Jharkhand Assembly Election Results: BJP Or Congress – Who Is Winning?

Jharkhand Assembly election results will be declared today as counting votes began from 8 am. With the Raghubar Das-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government deciding to go solo this time, the opposition alliance of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) seems to be having an edge in the 81-member Assembly. In 2014, the BJP had formed the Jharkhand government with help from All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU). The BJP had won in 37 seats while AJSU was victorious in five of them.

Most of the exit polls predicted on Friday that the mineral-rich state is headed for a hung assembly with neither the BJP nor the JMM-led opposition alliance crossing the majority mark.

Hemant Soren is leading in Barhait seat over BJP’s Simon Malto by 1,672 votes and is trailing by 7,858 votes behind state welfare minister and BJP candidate Lois Marandi in Dumka seat

-Raghubar Das is leading in Jamshedpur (East) seat against independent candidate Saryu Roy by 1,449 votes.

-BJP is leading from Baghmara, Barhi, Bishunpur, Dumka, Jamshedpur (West), Pakur, Panki, Potka, Simdega, Torpa, Hazaribagh, Khunti, Ramgarh, Daltonganj, Dhanbad, Giridih and Bhawanathpur assembly seats.

-BJP candidate C P Singh is leading by 1,616 votes over his nearest JMM rival Mahua Maji in Ranchi seat.

Hemant Soren is leading from Barhait assembly constituency by 664 votes.

-Babulal Marandi has admitted that the results are not according to their expectations. “We will have to accept people’s mandate. We will play the role which people’s mandate has given us. Let the results come, then we will sit and discuss what to do,” he told ANI.

-Babulal Marandi is leading from Dhanwar seat by 2841 votes.

-The JMM led alliance has crossed the halfway mark of 41 in early leads.

-For the BJP, a loss in Jharkhand would come in a series of losses in state Assembly polls — Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra

Babulal Marandi-led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) and Sudesh Mahto-led All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) could emerge as kingmakers if neither the alliance nor the BJP gets a clear cut majority.

-BJP is leading in Baghmara, Barhi, Bishunpur, Dumka, Chandankiyari, Jamshedpur (West), Pakur, Panki, Potka, Simdega, Torpa, Hazaribagh seats.

-Election Commission trends for 78 seats: BJP leading on 29 seats, JMM on 23, Congress on 11, RJD on 5, JVM (P) on 4, AJSU and BSP on 2 each & CPI (ML) on 1 seat.

-RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav said Hemant Soren is going to be the Chief Minister if the alliance wins.

Results of Chandankiyari and Taropa assembly seats are likely to released earlier than other seats.

-The BJP is said to be in touch with both the JVM-P and AJSU for a possible tie up if the results throw a hung assembly.

As the initial trends emerge from counting of votes for the 81-seat Jharkhand Assembly on Monday, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), which was at the forefront for its statehood demand nearly two decades back, will wish to make its fifth pitch at the helm.

-Election Commission trends for 62 seats: BJP leading on 22 seats, Congress on 9, JMM on 19, RJD on 5, AJSU and BSP on 2 seats each, CPI (ML) and JVM (P) on 1 seat each.

Despite early trends showing BJP trailing behind, Jharkhand BJP leader Ram Vichar Netam claims that the saffron party will win at least 50 seats.

News Source: LiveMint

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.