Maharashtra and Haryana 2019 Election Results

The results of Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections are out.

In Maharashtra, the BJP has won 105 seats and the Shiv Sena claimed victory in 56 constituencies, taking the alliance tally to 161, which is above the 144-halfway mark in 289-member assembly. Elections were held in Maharashtra in 288 constituencies on Monday in a single phase, and the legislature for one seat is nominated.

In Haryana, the BJP party won 40 of 90 seats. The Congress won 31 seats. Sources said the BJP will get support from six Independent MLAs.

In the bypolls held across 17 states and one Union Territory, the BJP and its allies won 26 of the 51 assembly seats, the Congress won 12.

A controversial politician who was once the target of BJP protests is in talks to help the ruling party form a government after it failed to win a majority in the Haryana election.

Gopal Kanda, one of the eight MLAs that the BJP is looking to for support, has turned kingmaker with one seat. Gopal Kanda, the chief of the Haryana Lokhit Party, was reportedly among the MLAs flown to Delhi for a meeting with the BJP leadership last evening by a BJP MP, Sunita Duggal.

A poster calling Aaditya Thackeray as future chief minister on Friday came up in Worli, the constituency from which he has won the election. Aaditya Thackeray, the 29-year-old son of Shiv Sena chief Udhaav Thackeray won from Mumbai’s Worli assembly constituency, beating NCP’s Suresh Mane by a margin of over 67 thousand votes.

“The important question is who will be the chief minister? When the Lok Sabha elections were held, we had decided on the 50-50 formula in the state. Chandrakant Patil raised some issues this time which we understand he can only tolerate so much. After all, we have to run our party too. Amit (Shah) Ji should come here to carry out what was decided,” Thackerey said in a press conference.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.